Paolo Banchero, Walker Kessler top NBA All-Rookie first team

The NBA announced its All-Rookie First and Second Teams on Monday, with Orlando Magic forward Paolo Banchero, Utah Jazz center Walker Kessler, and Oklahoma City Thunder forward Jalen Williams named to the first team. Indiana Pacers guard Bennedict Mathurin and Sacramento Kings forward Keegan Murray joined them on the first team. Meanwhile, Detroit Pistons guard Jaden Ivey, teammate Jalen Duren, San Antonio Spurs forward Jeremy Sochan, and Houston Rockets forwards Jabari Smith Jr. and Tari Eason comprised the All-Rookie Second Team.

Banchero, the NBA’s Rookie of the Year and the No. 1 overall pick in last year’s draft, averaged 20 points, 6.9 rebounds, and 3.7 assists this season. Williams, the No. 12 pick in last year’s draft, averaged 14.1 points, 4.5 rebounds, and 3.3 assists for the Thunder, while Kessler averaged 9.2 points, 8.4 rebounds, and 2.3 blocks per game for Utah. Mathurin, the sixth overall pick last June, averaged 16.7 points per game, while Murray averaged 12.2 points and shot 41% from 3-point range for the Kings, helping them make the playoffs for the first time since 2006.

Monday’s announcement of the All-Rookie Teams will be followed by the All-Defensive Teams on Tuesday and the All-NBA teams Wednesday, before the league hands out the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award Thursday. Ivey, who led the second team selections after averaging 16.3 points for the Pistons, was the only other player outside the five first-team selections to receive at least one vote for Rookie of the Year. The NBA postseason awards rollout will continue throughout the week, with the league honoring its best performers from the regular season.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *