Jaren Jackson Jr., Jrue Holiday, Brook Lopez lead All-Defensive team

The NBA has announced the All-Defensive First and Second Teams for the 2022-23 season, with Memphis Grizzlies’ Jaren Jackson Jr. headlining the former as he picked up his second consecutive selection. Jackson won the league’s Defensive Player of the Year award last month and led the NBA in blocks with 3.0 per game. He was joined on the first team by Brook Lopez of the Milwaukee Bucks, Evan Mobley of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Jrue Holiday of the Bucks, and Alex Caruso of the Chicago Bulls.

Meanwhile, the second team included Bam Adebayo of the Miami Heat, Dillon Brooks of the Grizzlies, Draymond Green of the Golden State Warriors, O.G. Anunoby of the Toronto Raptors, and Derrick White of the Boston Celtics. Giannis Antetokounmpo finished with more total votes than Adebayo but was classified as a forward rather than a center, thus missing out on the second-team center spot.

Holiday was one of the five first-team selections and picked up his fifth All-Defensive selection in six seasons. Lopez received his second selection after leading the league in contested shots and blocking 2.5 shots per game, while Mobley was recognized for his versatility on defense in partnership with Jarrett Allen on the league’s best defense. Caruso’s defensive prowess was key to the Bulls’ fifth-best defense, as the team performed six points per 100 possessions better with him on the court.

The announcement of the All-Defensive teams comes before the NBA unveils the All-NBA teams on Wednesday night, followed by the presentation of the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award on Thursday afternoon.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *